tilt wheel in an 1987 convertible, and transmission cable

billmdonn

Two questions

1. In my 1987 Avanti convertible the steering wheel's normal position is OK, when I go to use the tilt wheel it only goes down lower and lower and lower. Is this normal, or did someone install the tilt wheel incorrectly.

2. What brand of cable connect the gear shift to the automatic transmission, is it from an 1987 Monte Carlo, the car barely goes into drive and I can not get into the lower gears because I am at the very back of the console slot.

I am not a mechanic, I hope I have explained my problems well enough.

Thanks Bill Donnelly

Well when my mechanic opened up the consoled and took the gear shift lever out, a prior owner apparently fixed the problem by welding a washer as described in some of the responses. I told my mechanic that the consensus was that this is the proper fix. He however disagreed. He claimed that the origins of the problems was a bad transmission mount, causing the transmission to drop a bit, which caused the cable to stretch. His fix was

1. replace the transmission mount.

2. remove the washer putting the gear shift lever back to its orignal configuration

3. put in a new cable from a 1987 Monte Carlo

4. charge me $844 :(

I hope his fix is right???

Thank you all for your help.

Bill Donnelly

Edited by billmdonn

Two questions

1. In my 1987 Avanti convertible the steering wheel's normal position is OK, when I go to use the tilt wheel it only goes down lower and lower and lower. Is this normal, or did someone install the tilt wheel incorrectly.

2. What brand of cable connect the gear shift to the automatic transmission, is it from an 1987 Monte Carlo, the car barely goes into drive and I can not get into the lower gears because I am at the very back of the console slot.

I am not a mechanic, I hope I have explained my problems well enough.

Thanks Bill Donnelly